Windows 10 Dark Theme

I’m one of those techies who likes to customise every application I use with pretty icons and colours. And like alot of my peers, I love dark themes. So I thought I would share how you can do this for you your Windows 10 apps

In build 1607 or “Anniversary Update”, its really simple, you can enable it in Settings > Personalization > Colors and you can chose either a Light or Dark “App Mode”.

Pre 1607, there are two registry entries you can make to add the same dark mode:

Key: HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize
ValueType: DWORD(32Bit)
ValueName: AppsUseLightTheme
ValueData: 0

Add the same DWORD under HKCU, then logout and back in and you’ve got Windows Dark theme.

Windows 10 Dark Theme

Leave a Reply

